Google+ Will Shut Down In April of 2019

Google+ Will Shut Down In April of 2019

If you thought about deleting your Google+ profile, you don’t have to think about it any more. Google is shutting down Google+ in April of 2019.

The Google+ Shut Down

I’ve read several articles as to why Google is shutting down G+, and each article points to the security breach of personal data.

So, if you’ve thought about deleting your Google+ profile before Google pulls the plug themselves, but you’re not sure how-to do it. I recently deleted my profile and here are the steps Google took me through. Learn more

Some data will be kept, and some data will be deleted or converted. You may lose access to some services and functionality.

  • Your circles will be deleted.
  • Your +1s will be deleted.
  • Your posts, comments, and collections will be deleted. For treatment of YouTube-related content, refer to the YouTube section below.
  • Your introduction, tagline, occupation, “currently living” and “places lived” profile data will be deleted. Your gender, birthday, personal contact, work contact, work history, education and sites listed on your Google account will be hidden from other people unless you choose to show that info. Change what others see on your About Me page. If other people already have your email address or other information that identifies you, we may show them your publicly visible Google Account information, such as your name and profile photo.
  • Many Google+ social and sharing features will be disabled in other Google products and services.
  • Photos and videos from your posts will continue to appear in your Album Archive. Photos and videos in comments and cover photos for Collections will be deleted.
  • The cover photo on your profile will be reset, and the latest cover photo you used will remain available in the Scrapbook Photos album in your Album Archive.
  • Your connections to third-party services will be disabled. You can manage them in your Connected Accounts settings.
  • Your chat content in Hangouts, Google Talk and Gmail will not be deleted.
  • Any users that were automatically added to your Contacts because you interacted with them on Google+ will remain in your Contacts.
  • Your Google Local reviews will not be deleted. You can access and delete them in the “Your Contributions” section of Google Maps.
  • Domain-restricted communities will not be deleted. As part of the Google+ consumer shutdown, we will be deleting communities outside your domain that do not have at least one owner who is a G Suite user.
  • Events you created and your RSVPs to events will not be deleted until the Google+ consumer shutdown.
  • Your comments on other sites like Blogger blogs that use Google+ commenting will be deleted.
  • If you verified your mobile phone number to claim a custom URL, the phone number will not be deleted by this action. You can manage your phone numbers in My Account.

You will maintain ownership and management rights over your Google+ pages.

  • Google+ pages that you own will remain available until the Google+ consumer shutdown, after which point they will be deleted. If you don’t want to own a page anymore, you can delete it. Deleting a page is permanent. You can also transfer ownership of a page using the page’s settings. Learn More
  • You can continue to manage any pages you currently manage until the Google+ consumer shutdown. Your name and email address will be visible to the owner and other co-managers. You can also remove yourself as a manager of a page using the page’s settings. If you do, you’ll no longer be able to act as that page or take any kind of administrative actions. However, all of your past posts, comments, and other actions will remain visible.

Your YouTube channel Durwin Randle will be kept, along with your videos and playlists. You will continue to have access to YouTube. Content displayed on YouTube will be kept, while content only displayed on Google+ about YouTube videos will be deleted.

  • All comments, replies, likes, and dislikes that appear on YouTube will be kept.
  • Any posts about YouTube videos that only appear on Google+ and not on YouTube, including associated comments and +1s, will be deleted.

Deleting your public profile will not affect the status of your Google Account.

  • Your introduction, tagline, occupation, “currently living” and “places lived” profile data will be deleted. Your gender, birthday, personal contact, work contact, work history, education and sites listed on your Google account will be hidden from other people unless you choose to show that info. Change what others see on your About Me page. If other people already have your email address or other information that identifies you, we may show them your publicly visible Google Account information, such as your name and profile photo.

Other Google Products

In case you have another profile that relies on pulling it’s data from your Google+ profile or Google+ page, you can Learn More about how this change will impact your other products.

Google+ Will Shut Down In April of 2019

‘Til the next episode!

If you have anything on Google+ that you want to save, I suggest you take a few minutes and download or save your images/videos before Google begins deleting profiles. Don’t wait until the last minute, do it now.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of